Atlantic County Council of Education Associations

Serving over 7,000 educators and support professionals in Atlantic County


Are you interested in becoming a vital part of your ACCEA Organization?

Much of the governance of the NJEA is done by committees made up of active and retired NJEA members. There are a number of very active committees which meet a few times throughout the year to conduct business and some that meet as little as once a year. Most meetings are held in Trenton between the hours of 6 and 8pm after school.  You are provided with a great catered dinner at the start of the meeting and have the opportunity to work with other members from across the state who share a common interest with you on your committee’s goals.  At the end of this email is a clickable list of the committees where you can find additional information. (just sign in to your NJEA account for more details on the duties of the committee.)

ACCEA members have been very active in the past years working on these committees which come with a two year appointment.  We are always looking for members who are looking for a chance to get more involved and make a difference in the education profession here in Atlantic County and New Jersey.
If you are currently serving on a committee or if you would like to be considered for a committee position please complete the form at
Atlantic County Members are on the following committees:

2017-19 Atlantic County NJEA Committee Appointments

Budget: Vacancy

Congressional Contact: Madeline Avery, Greater Egg Harbor Regional

Constitution: Vacancy

Communications: Vacancy

Convention: Cassandra Montague, Atlantic City

Editorial Committee: Vacancy

Elections: Mary Jane Hurley, Northfield

ESP: Gretta Bohren, Buena Regional Support

Exceptional Child: Jen Sheldon, Mullica

Government Relations:  Melissa Tomlinson Buena & Debra Steineder, Buena  

Health Benefits: Debra Steineder, Buena*

Higher Education: Marcia Kleinz, Atlantic Cape Community College TLC

Human Rights: Alphonso Harrel, Atlantic City

Instruction: Vacancy

Leadership: Kevin Hackney, Egg Harbor Twp

Members Benefits: Cecelia Showell, Atlantic County Special Services

Membership: Erin Chiappini, Greater Egg Harbor Regional

Minority Leadership: Stacey Robinson, Atlantic City

NEA Activities: Jen Sheldon, Mullica

Paul Dimitriadis: Vacancy

Pension Policy: Vacancy

Professional Development: Vacancy

Professional Rights & Responsibilities: Amy Gold, Hamilton Township

Sexual Orientation & Gender: Vacancy

Technology: Christina Gras, Pleasantville

UniServ: Ellen Higgins, Atl Co Institute of Technology

Urban Education: Vacancy

Vocational, Career, & Technical Educ.: Ellen Higgins, Atl Co Institute of Technology

Women in Education: Jeannine Ingenito, Egg Harbor Township

Working Conditions: Barbara Rheault, Mullica Twp * Melissa Tomlinson, Buena Regional

Worksite Health and Safety: Susan Hinlicky, Egg Harbor Twp*

*State Committee Chairperson